This district is located between 26 degree & 28 degree north lattitude and 83 degree & 85 degree east longitude out of which district Kushinagar was created in 1994 by taking north & east portion of Deoria district.District deoria is surrounded by district kushinagar in North, district Gopalganj & Siwan(Bihar state)in East ,district Mau & district Ballia in south and district Gorakhpur in West.

          Deoria district headquarter is situated at 53 km. milestone from Gorakhpur by road towards east. District headquarter is situated at 50 km from Gorakhpur on Gorakhpur-Siwan broadgauge railway line towards Siwan. Ghaghara, Rapti & Chhoti Gandak are the main rivers in this district. Besides these, Gorra , Bathua , Kurna ,Majhne ,Nakta are small river/nala which originate from above mentioned rivers.

          Climate of the district is 'SAMSITOSN' .May & June are hot and December & January months of the year are cold. Soil of different types is found in the district. Domat , Bhat , Matiyar & Balui Domat is found commonly. Productive & densely populated this district of Uttar Pradesh is situated at the north-east end of the state. Currently,Deoria district has five tehsils namely Deoria sadar , Salempur , Rudrapur , Berhaj & Bhatparrani.